New date and new name for Swedish international jockeys' competition

One of the world’s most competitive international events for female jockeys returns to Bro Park, Stockholm, on Sunday, 30 June with a new slot in the calendar and new title.

The Women Jockeys’ World Cup, which has been run twice as the Lady Jockeys’ Thoroughbred World Championship and is designed to expand international opportunities for professional female jockeys, has attracted riders from as far afield as Hong Kong, New Zealand and South America, but riders from closer to home have so far achieved the greatest success in competition which takes place over five races on an eight-race programme.

Event patron ABBA’s Benny Andersson presented Maryline Eon with the trophy for the inaugural running in 2017, the same year that the Senonnes-based rider created history to become the first female to take part in the Group 1 Prix de Diane in her native France.

Last year’s renewal saw Josefin Landgren, a 27 year-old professional from Sweden, take top honours in the points-based competition from Brazil’s Victoria Mota with Sara Vermeersch from Belgium back in third.

Dennis Madsen, Svensk Galopp’s Director of Racing said, “We are looking forward to welcoming some of the world’s most accomplished female riders to Sweden at the end of June for what is guaranteed to be another competitive event. 

“Races for female jockeys have become a popular feature at Bro Park since the opening meeting in June 2016 when three of the races were dedicated to female riders, and we are delighted to have this opportunity to showcase the talent of female elite athletes from around the world and provide them with a platform to inspire future generations.”

Racing TV, British racing’s premier satellite broadcaster, is scheduled to provide live coverage of the championship races for the third consecutive year.  In 2018 subscribers saw a gallant performance from the UK’s Georgia Cox who represented Great Britain to finish fifth.

The line-up for this year’s event will be announced shortly and could include the Great Britain’s Megan Nicholls who receives an automatic invitation as the winner of the 2018 Silk Series, a UK initiative to promote races specifically for female jockeys, and Josefin Landgren who is expected to return to defend her title.