Women Jockeys’ World Cup attracts top international line-up

The Women Jockeys’ World Cup, showcasing some of the world’s top female riding talent, returns to Bro Park, Stockholm for a third year on Sunday, 30 June.

Riders representing eight countries will compete in the five-race points-based competition which for the past two years has been run as the Lady Jockeys’ Thoroughbred World Championship.

The line-up includes Nanako Fujita, Japan’s only female jockey and the first to be licensed by the Japan Racing Association for more than three years.  Last year’s champion, Swedish-based Josefin Landgren will be bidding to defend her title and will face stiff competition from a host of established and emerging international talent comprising Jeane Alves de Lemos (BRA), Rebecca Danz (GER), Ulrika Holmquist (SWE), Kaia Sofia Ingolfsland (NOR), Alison Massin (FR), Sophie Ralston (IRE), Jane Elliott (GB) and Georgia Cox, also riding for Great Britain, who returns to the Stockholm track having finished fifth in the competition last year.

Dennis Madsen, Director of Racing at Svensk Galopp said, “We are delighted with the strength of this this year’s line-up once again and the media attention the event has already attracted.”

“We staged three races for women jockeys on the opening day of Bro Park back in June 2016, and have been committed ever since to providing opportunities for female riders to compete on an international stage.”

“The Women Jockeys’ Wold Cup is designed to expand international opportunities for professional female riders and provide a platform from which to promote success and inspire future generations.  This year, the global reach of the event is immense, it has attracted a host of established and emerging international talent from as far afield as Asia and South America.”

The final three championship races of the Women Jockeys’ World Cup, which form part of Sunday’s eight-race programme, will be broadcast live in the UK by RacingTV, British and Irish horseracing’s premier dedicated satellite broadcaster, who have covered the event since its inception.