Three more stars added to international line-up

 The line-up for the inaugural Lady Jockeys’ Thoroughbred World Championship has been strengthened with announcement of three more top riders representing Ireland, UK and Denmark, set to take part in the star-studded international event at Bro Park, Stockholm on Tuesday 4, July.

Ana O’Brien has added her name to the list of renowned female jockeys travelling to Sweden for the event backed by Benny Andersson’s Chess Racing, the racing and breeding operation founded by the former ABBA star.

The daughter of Derby-winning trainer Aidan O’Brien, represents Ireland in the competition which will be played out over five races on an eight-race evening card, and will take on stars from four continents; Asia, Europe, North America and Australasia.

O’Brien has already notched up a win at Europe’s newest racecourse, riding Irish bred Hi Finn to victory at Bro Park on its opening day in 2016.

Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup star Sammy Jo Bell, who was part of the victorious Girls team in 2015 has accepted her invitation to represent the United Kingdom in the competition. Returning to racing this year from a major injury that ruled her out for ten months, Bell has made a promising start to her season so far.

Sara Slot, Denmark’s first female Group winner, has also confirmed her attendance. No stranger to international competition, Slot has ridden in the UK, USA, New Zealand and Australia, in addition to racing regularly throughout Scandinavia and partnering Benny Andersson’s mare Vigelegere to victory in the Breeders Cup Trial at Klampenborg.

Dennis Madsen, Svensk Galopp’s Director of Racing said, “We are delighted with the line-up so far and are looking forward to what will surely be a highly competitive event. The Lady Jockeys’ Thoroughbred World Championship will focus international attention on racing in Sweden and provide an opportunity for us to showcase some of our best facilities and the quality of our sport.”

The trio will join Chantal Sutherland (Can), Danielle Johnson (New Zealand), Kei Chiong (Hong Kong), Stefanie Hofer (Germany) and Fanny Olsson (Sweden) among the ten riders taking part.